Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is an assembly of selected representatives from politics, industry, science and the media. Its objectives are to connect the Institute to the public.


Chairperson: Dr. Jeanne Rubner

Vice Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bauernhansl
Fraunhofer-Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA, Stuttgart

Gerhard Borho
Head of Corporate Development & Business Unit Electric Automation, Festo AG & Co.KG, Esslingen

Christoph Dahl
General Manager Baden-Württemberg Stiftung gGmbH, Stuttgart

Dr. Siegfried Dais
Shareholder of Robert Bosch Industrietreuhand KG, Gerlingen

Prof. Dr. Bernd Engler
Rector of Eberhard-Karls-University Tübingen, Tübingen

Christian O. Erbe
General Manager ERBE Elektromedizin GmbH, Tübingen

Prof. Dr. Holger Hanselka
President Karlsruher Institute for Technology, Karlsruhe

Dr. Ralf Herbrich
Managing Director and Director for Machine Learning Amazon Development Center Germany GmbH, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann
Professor for Data Analytics, Department of Computer Science, ETH Zürich, Zürich, Schweiz

Fritz Kuhn
Lord Mayor of the City of Stuttgart, Stuttgart

Boris Palmer
Lord Mayor of the City of Tübingen, Tübingen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Ressel
Rector of the University Stuttgart, Stuttgart

Dr. Jeanne Rubner
Head of editorial department for Science and Educational Policy, Bayrischer Rundfunk, München

Theresa Schopper
State Secretary, State Ministry Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart

Dr. Simone Schwanitz
Director-general, Ministry for Science, Research and Arts Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart

Dr.-Ing. Michael Steiner
Board Member for Research and Development, Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart

Hubert Wicker
Director-general, Ministry for Employment and Housing Baden-Württemberg, Stuttgart

Prof. Dr. Eberhart Zrenner
Chair Professor of Ophthalmology, Institute for Ophthalmic Research, University of Tübingen