Direktor

Prof. Dr. Joachim Spatz
Joachim Spatz
Wissenschaftliches Mitglied (Direktor/in)
Telefon: +49 711 689-3610
Fax: +49 711 689-3612

Neueste Meldungen

New Paper: Nanostructured Stealth Surfaces for Visible and Near-Infrared Light. Z. Diao, M. Kraus, R. Brunner, J. H. Dirks, J. P. Spatz (2016). Nano Letters 16, 6610-6616, doi: 10.1021/acs.nanolett.6b03308

New Paper: Substrate engagement of integrins α5β1 and αvβ3 is necessary, but not sufficient, for high directional persistence in migration on fibronectin. D. Missirlis, T. Haraszti, C. v. C. Scheele, T. Wiegand, C. Diaz, S. Neubauer, F. Rechenmacher, H. Kessler, J.P. Spatz (2016). Scientific Reports 6, 23258, doi:10.1038/srep23258

New Paper: Controlled Immobilization Strategies to Probe Short Hyaluronan-Protein Interactions  Minsky, B.B., Antoni, C.H. & Boehm, H. (2016). Scientific Reports 6, 21608, doi:10.1038/srep21608

Stellenangebote

  • Zur Zeit gibt es keine Stellenangebote. Bitte besuchen Sie unsere englischsprachige Homepage.


Neue Materialien und Biosysteme (Spatz)

Untersuchung der Wechselwirkung zwischen synthetischen und biologischen Materialien

 

 

 

 

Das Department beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung grundlegender und angewandter Themen im Bereich der Biomaterialien, Biophysik und Biomedizin. Hierbei stehen neue Funktionen und Phänomene im Vordergrund, die auf der Selbstorganisation von Molekülen, Proteinen, Nanopartikeln, Bakterien und Zellen sowie deren chemische und physikalische Manipulation basieren. In diesem Kontext entwickeln wir neue Messtechniken und Biomaterialsysteme (z.B. fotoschaltbare Moleküle und Proteine, strukturierte Grenzflächen für Bio- und optisch aktive Grenzflächen und Fasersysteme für Zellmatrices) und lösen Fragen zum grundlegenden Verständnis zur individuellen und kollektiven Zellmigration, zur Wechselwirkung von Zellen mit ihrer Umgebung (Zelle-Zelle und Zelle-Matrix Adhäsion) und deren Einfluss auf höhere biologische Funktionen, wie Immunreaktionen, Gewebeentwicklung und -regeneration, Wundheilung und Tumorentwicklung. Anderseits beschäftigt sich das Department mit Fragen der synthetischen Biologie, wie einzelne Zellfunktionen, z. B. die Zelladhäsion und Zellmigration, synthetisch und in minimalen Ansätzen (minimale Zelle) aufgebaut werden können. Letzteres Thema wird u. a. durch einen ERC Advanced Grant der EU gefördert (zusammen mit Benjamin Geiger vom Weizmann Institute of Science).

 
loading content

Director

Profile_image

Prof. Dr. Joachim Spatz

Phone:+49 711 689-3611Fax:+ 49 711 689-3612
Email:spatz@...

Research

 

Latest News

New Paper: α5β1-integrin and MT1-MMP promote tumor cell migration in 2D but not in 3D fibronectin microenvironments. Corall, S., Haraszti, T., Bartoschik, T., Spatz, J. P., Ludwig, T., & Cavalcanti-Adam, E. A. (2014). α5β1-integrin and MT1-MMP promote tumor cell migration in 2D but not in 3D fibronectin microenvironments.Computational Mechanics, 53(3), 499-510. doi:10.1007/s00466-013-0960-6.

New Paper: Interface Immobilization Chemistry of cRGD-based Peptides Regulates Integrin Mediated Cell Adhesion. Pallarola, D., Bochen, A., Böhm, H., Rechenmacher, F., Sobahi, T., Spatz, J. P., et al. (2014). Interface Immobilization Chemistry of cRGD-based Peptides Regulates Integrin Mediated Cell Adhesion.Advanced Functional Materials, 24(7), 943-956. doi:10.1002/adfm.201302411.

New Paper: Biomimetic macroporous PEG hydrogels as 3D scaffolds for the multiplication of human hematopoietic stem and progenitor cells. Raic, A., Rödling, L., Kalbacher, H., & Lee-Thedieck, C. (2014). Biomimetic macroporous PEG hydrogels as 3D scaffolds for the multiplication of human hematopoietic stem and progenitor cells. Biomaterials,35, 929-940. doi:10.1016/j.biomaterials.2013.10.038.

 


New Materials and Biosystems (Spatz)

Investigation of the interaction between synthetic and living materials

 

 

Biophysics of Cellular Interactions

Synthetic Cell Systems

Cell Signaling and Adhesion

Technical Applications of Biomimetic Nanostructures

Supramolecular structures and micromechanics

Cell Mechanics and Migration

Semiconductor Nanomaterials

Single Molecule TIRF Microscopy on Nanostructured Surfaces

Hydrogels and Mechanotransduction

Nanomaterials for Optical and Sensoric Applications

Microfluidics for Synthetic Biology

Bionic Microgenerators and Tunneling Nanotubes (TNTs)

Photoswitchable Biointerphases

 

 

The Department explores fundamental and applied research topics in the area of biomaterials, biophysics and biomedicine. Its focus are novel functions and phenomema based on the self-organization of molecules, proteins, nanoparticles, bacteria, and cells as well as their chemical and physical manipulation. In this context we are developing new devices and biomaterial systems (e.g. photoswitchable molecules and proteins, structured interfaces for bio- and optically active interfaces as well as fiber systems for cell matrices) and shedding light on fundamental issues such as individual and collective cell migration, cellular interactions with their environment (cell-cell and cell-matrix adhesion) and, its influence on higher biological functions like immune responses, tissue development and regeneration, wound healing and tumor development. Moreover, the Department addresses issues in synthetic biology, how individual cell functions like cell adhesion and cell migration can be created synthetically. The latter topic is being funded by an ERC Advanced Grant of the EU (together with Benjamin Geiger from the Weizmann Institute of Science), among others.

 
loading content